2019 Fall By-Election Results

From our Elections Committee: đź’š

Here are the results for the ICSS Fall 2019 By-Elections and Referendum.

First Year Representative – Innis College Student Residence

Tony Hu – 51 votes (ELECTED)

Mika Kwiecinski – 22 votes

Norman Zeng – 18 votes

Grace Choi – 26 votes

Spoiled – 16 votes

First Year Representative – Off-Campus Representative

Angela (Ziyi) Liu – 37 votes (ELECTED)

Ashley Bejoy – 31 votes

Connie Yu – 8 votes

Javahir Saidov – 1 vote

Haoran (Edward) Li – 2 votes

Malyika Shami – 23 votes

Spoiled – 31 votes

First Year Representative – International Representative

Aliza Aziz Lakho – 48 votes (ELECTED)

Jiayuan (Jessica) Cai – 37 votes

Christine Lan – 17 votes

Pinlin (Rain) Song – 3 votes

Spoiled – 28 votes

Sustainability Director

Daria Mancino – 115 votes (ELECTED)

Silvia Guerrero – 5 votes

Spoiled – 13 votes

Innis College Council (ICC) – Student Representative

Daniel Li – 84 votes (ELECTED)

Daria Mancino – 81 votes (ELECTED)

Louisa You – 81 votes (ELECTED)

Andrew Zhao – 78 votes (ELECTED)

Didier Ha – 75 votes (ELECTED)

Kimlin Chin – 73 votes (ELECTED)

Lucas Granger – 69 votes (ELECTED)

Annie Liu – 67 votes (ELECTED)

Grace Choi – 66 votes (ELECTED)

Aliza Aziz Lakho – 60 votes (ELECTED)

Mira CY Chow – 36 votes (ELECTED)

Mukti Patel – 34 votes (ELECTED)

Jeffrey Ye – 26 votes (ELECTED)

Simran Arulrag – 23 votes

Madison Kallman – 19 votes

Kareem Roz – 13 votes

Parker Levesque – 13 votes

Ying (Alice) Su – 12 votes

Spoiled – 10 votes

Executive Elections Referendum

Currently, the ICSS General Election is held during the Winter Semester, where Executives, Directors, and Constituency Representatives – with the exception of the First-Year Students’ Representatives – are elected.

If the following amendment is approved, there shall be two separate elections during the Winter Semester, designated the ICSS Executive Election and the ICSS General Election. The ICSS Executive Election will be where the President, Executive Vice-President, Vice-President Finance, and Vice-President Internal are elected. This election will precede the ICSS General Election.

The ICSS General Election will be held after the Executive Election. This will be where the Directors and Constituency Representatives will be elected. If a position remains vacant after the Executive Elections conclude, the position will re-open for nomination and be included in the General Election.

With the ICSS Executive (President, Executive Vice-President, Vice-President Finance, Vice-President Internal), the positions are often uncontested. To increase opportunities for involvement within the ICSS, two elections (ICSS Executive Election and the ICSS General Election) will occur on different time schedules where an Innis Students shall be given the opportunity to run for positions in both elections, given that a student was not elected to a position during the ICSS Executive Election. This shall increase both interest and participation in ICSS elections, while allowing students an increased chance at being elected to a position on council.


Are you in favour of amending Section 10 of the ICSS Constitution to allow for the creation of a new schedule to establish a two tier election system consisting of the ICSS Executive Election and the ICSS General Election?

  1. The ICSS Executive Election shall be held prior to the ICSS General Election for the sole purpose of electing the Executive Team. 
    1. In the case that a position remains vacant, the position shall be added to the ballot in the ICSS General Election.
    2. All other rules pertaining to the ICSS Executive Election shall follow existing election guidelines as outlined in the ICSS Constitution.
    3. The beginning of the nomination period of the ICSS General Election shall not begin until the conclusion of the ICSS Executive Election. The conclusion of the ICSS Executive Election is defined by the public release of the final result.

Yes – 70 votes (PASSED)

No – 5 votes

Spoiled – 8 votes

We hope that you have found that this election has been conducted in compliance with all Innis College Student Society rules and by-laws. If there are any questions, comments or concerns, please don’t hesitate to contact us at info.elections.icss@gmail.com or Innis College Elections Committee.

2018 Fall By-Election Results

On behalf of the ICSS, the Elections Committee would like to thank all of the candidates for their participation in the Fall By-Election and their interest in contributing to the Innis College Community at the University of Toronto. Below you will find the results of the election by position.

Please note that for uncontested positions (in this case, these were the ICSS Orientation Coordinator and ICC positions) candidates were required to obtain 50% of the vote plus 1 vote in their favour. As there were 206 voters, that means 104 votes were necessary to secure these positions.

Election Results

Commuter Representative
Winsy Leung (Wai Yan) – 109 votes (elected)
Abbigayle Weber – 24 votes
Helen Ho – 16 votes
Amisha Punja – 10 votes
Spoiled – 47 ballots

Clubs and Merchandise
Claire Hsiung – 139 votes (elected)
Sadaf Jamkhandi – 44 votes
Spoiled – 23 ballots

First-Year Representative – Chestnut Residence
Jason Cheong – 55 votes (elected)
Alysha Nelander – 40 votes
Ankhee Paul – 18 votes
Spoiled – 93 ballots

First-Year Representative – Innis College Student Residence
Janet Cho – 113 votes (elected)
Didier Ha – 41 votes
Seungmin Lee – 16 votes
Sofia DiSalle – 12 votes
Spoiled – 24 ballots

First-Year Representative – Off-Campus Representative
Emma Paulus – 78 votes (elected)
Jenah Turpin – 31 votes
Spoiled – 97 ballots

International Student Representative
Tony Niu – 104 votes (elected)
Summer Tang – 19 votes
Nao Yoshida – 18 votes
Sophie Zhou – 18 votes
Yingxin (Cindy) Xie – 11 votes
Akshit Goyal – 9 votes
Spoiled – 27 ballots

Orientation Coordinators
Jericho Allick – 117 votes (elected)
Isheeta Chakrabarti – 105 votes (elected)
Spoiled – 75 ballots

Innis College Committee (ICC)
Lucas Granger – 123 votes (elected)
Ethan Kim – 118 votes (elected)
Caroline Wrobel – 108 votes (elected)
Ashlee Redmond – 105 votes (elected)
Annie Liu – 103 votes
Lauren Chan – 100 votes
Kelvin Cho – 94 votes
Kimlin Anne-Marie Chin – 89 votes
Cecily Liu – 88 votes
Spoiled – 31 ballots

As only 4 of the 13 positions on the ICC have been filled, there will be a run-off election. If you are interested in running, keep a look out for more information on this from the ICSS.

If you have any questions or concerns about this election or its results, please contact info.elections.icss@gmail.com.

Stephanie Kroone, Bella Rogal, and Ishan Sharma
Chief Returning Officer, and Deputy Returning Officers
ICSS 2018 Fall By-Election